On June 11 1944, the priests of the Basilian Order in New York came to the aid of the Ukrainian Catholics in search of
a church. The Abbot at that time, Father Maxim Markiw bought a building on 709 Front Street in Hempstead and, with the blessing
of the Bishop Constantine Bohachevsky, established the parish that became St Vladimir the Great.
On October 14 1951 the grounds on Holly avenue and Front Street across from
the rectory were blessed. Records indicate that at this time 60 familes belonged to the church. The church was actually
buildt in three stages as funds would allow.
The first liturgy was conducted in the baement of the new structure on April 6 1952 and then for the next three years.
Membership expanded and the Church was completed June of 1954, in time to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Church. On
OCtober 3 1054 Bishop Bohachevsky consecrated the cornerstone of the Church. Midnight mass was celebrated for the first time
by newly appointed Father Michael Wawryk.